Welcome Matrice Pilots!
Join our free DJI Matrice community today!
Sign up

Is this type of banding to be expected from this sensor...?

Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Age
41
My first demo run tonight. I wanted to make sure the bird flew, and I KNOW this is not a camera for night aerial photography, but man that banding is TERRIBLE. I remember my Canon 5dMK2 used to be bad when pushed but this is STRAIGHT off the raw file with no editing or RAW touch-ups....

This is my first M4/3 sensor, so I want to know if this is normal....
 

Attachments

  • Banding.jpg
    Banding.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 117
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
251
Reaction score
87
What FW version are you on?
I took this tonight - iso 800, 1/10 sec, f2

not the most amazing shot but as you can see no banding
 

Attachments

  • night skyline.jpg
    3.1 MB · Views: 16
  • DJI_0032.JPG
    DJI_0032.JPG
    6.5 MB · Views: 66
Joined
Jul 15, 2015
Messages
18
Reaction score
7
Location
Prince Edward Island, Canada
My first demo run tonight. I wanted to make sure the bird flew, and I KNOW this is not a camera for night aerial photography, but man that banding is TERRIBLE. I remember my Canon 5dMK2 used to be bad when pushed but this is STRAIGHT off the raw file with no editing or RAW touch-ups....

This is my first M4/3 sensor, so I want to know if this is normal....
It's a little overexposed but I don't see the banding you're talking about. Are you confusing the shadows of the streetlights for banding?
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2014
Messages
35
Reaction score
9
My first demo run tonight. I wanted to make sure the bird flew, and I KNOW this is not a camera for night aerial photography, but man that banding is TERRIBLE. I remember my Canon 5dMK2 used to be bad when pushed but this is STRAIGHT off the raw file with no editing or RAW touch-ups....

This is my first M4/3 sensor, so I want to know if this is normal....

It sure shows up when you open the picture and look at the night sky. Unacceptable.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Age
41
I just updated my firmware today to the latest version.

I will do more experimenting tomorrow trying different ISO and F stops. Was just curious if this happened and to get used to it, or if theres something else at play.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Age
41
Could ALSO be the Adobe RAW converter?! I need to try JPG as well as RAW files!
 

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
2,333
Messages
24,198
Members
4,414
Latest member
TimothyCob