Welcome Matrice Pilots!
Join our free DJI Matrice community today!

BLOWN out Reds??

Reaction score
The more I edit footage from the X5 the more disappointed I am in the DJI and the horrible codec that blows out the reds in my footage. Most of the red colors look bright, but if you try to do any adjustments in post they look neon. I'm sick to my stomach over it after purchasing an Osmo with focus wheel and an Inspire 1 PRO to match. Anyone out there have any luck with controlling the reds in post? I've tried shooting in D-Cinelike (the worst when reds/orange are present), D-log & Beach (both handle red about the same), and Art (which handles reds the best, but all other colors suffer with it). I've tried all different video settings as well. I'm pulling my hair out. SURELY everyone else has had this same experience and knows what I'm talking about. I'm a wedding photographer and have an assistant capture video footage for me for videography. I've shot my last two weddings with the OSMO and would like for it to be my A camera, but right now I'm quite frustrated.

Why not make your own LUT using a ColorChecker Passport and video software that uses that target like Davinci Resolve 14? Might help to get the color more accurate too.

Fwiw, DJI has issues with Manual White Balance for several years now. I shoot with a green correction filter to keep the heavy magenta they use in check since they provide no tint adjustment which they should. Doesn't seem so bad in Auto WB though. No doubt they will make a better coloration and "Coming Soon" ... haha!

I have noticed the new TV's have a strong (Vivid) setting from factory. Recent Sony Bravaria I bought has that neon red effect and I had to get it out of Vivid mode which was the default it came with, and turn the color down too. I think Apple is also heavy handed in their display of video color and contrasty too. Probably the way the public expects their movies to be, and not necessarily accurate.