Welcome Matrice Pilots!
Join our free DJI Matrice community today!
Sign up

DJI Transcoding Tool

Joined
Jul 6, 2014
Messages
314
Reaction score
147
A very good question.

Some people will tell you that ProRes is a better codec, with a much higher bit rate, and thus converting your H.264-encoded MP4 to ProRes will improve its quality. It absolutely will not; it cannot add detail that was not included in the original MP4 file.

Some people will tell you that ProRes is an easier codec for editing software to handle, and insist that they must transcode to ProRes before they can edit the file. These people all seem to be Mac users, and all seem to be using Final Cut. I have no experience with either, so I can't say for sure. All I know is that Adobe Premiere Pro was designed to handle the H.264 codec natively, and it works like a champ.

The only thing left: correcting D-Log footage by adding the missing contrast and saturation. This can be done pretty easily in Premiere Pro via the Lumetri color panel, so I don't see the point in the transcoding tool. I did an analysis of the original transcoding tool, designed for the X3 camera, here:


Again, this video is analyzing a different tool than you asked about. But I think the general idea is the same.
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2015
Messages
131
Reaction score
37
Age
120
Mp4 is not nice to edit with, its much slower and intensive to work with for editing.
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2014
Messages
314
Reaction score
147
That is not the case for Premiere Pro on Windows. I routinely edit 4K H.264/MP4 files with no performance problems at all.
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2015
Messages
131
Reaction score
37
Age
120
That is not the case for Premiere Pro on Windows. I routinely edit 4K H.264/MP4 files with no performance problems at all.

I must admit I doubted what you said, so I did some quick tests inside AE and MEDIA ENCODER and initial results show you're right.
If this turns out to be true you just saved me a load of disk space and transcoding time!
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2014
Messages
314
Reaction score
147
Adobe designed its video products so that they could easily edit "delivery" codecs such as H.264. Apparently Final Cut has problems with these, but Premiere Pro does not.
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2015
Messages
131
Reaction score
37
Age
120
Adobe designed its video products so that they could easily edit "delivery" codecs such as H.264. Apparently Final Cut has problems with these, but Premiere Pro does not.

Thanks, more than likely when i was starting out and taking advice blindly I was told this by an apple guy and just carried on the habit ever since.
Oh well, another reason to hate on mac guys :)

How are you finding the X5 in terms of grading/colour correction/sharpness etc.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
111
Reaction score
57
Apparently Final Cut has problems with these, but Premiere Pro does not.
To clarify the 10-year old generation Final Cut Pro 7 that some still insist on using does indeed, but the "new" current one works a treat with it.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2015
Messages
63
Reaction score
11
Age
39
Location
Hungary
Website
www.phat.hu
That is not the case for Premiere Pro on Windows. I routinely edit 4K H.264/MP4 files with no performance problems at all.
can you please share some detail on your pc ? video card, cpu, speed, ram etc. i am planing to build one for myself. researching still for the best optimal solution.
thx


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2014
Messages
314
Reaction score
147
Here is my current rig:
This is clearly a high-end build; I am a software engineer, and I work on this machine all day every day. Here is what I would recommend for a decent video-editing system, at a medium cost:
If this lower-priced system appeals to you, but you want to upgrade one part, I would recommend a more expensive video card.

But the most important part in these builds is the SSD. I will not build a system without one, for anyone, for any reason. They make such a huge difference that I can't bear to use a computer without one.

And while they are much less expensive than they used to be, so are spinning disks. So don't store your video files on the SSD; 4TB drives are $125 to $150 these days.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Phatzo
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
251
Reaction score
87
It's all software related, and there's no simple way to explain why. Premiere likes H.264's and will link/import them just fine. Avid and Final Cut do not like H.264's so will chug through them and just generally perform poorly when you have that format on your timeline.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2015
Messages
63
Reaction score
11
Age
39
Location
Hungary
Website
www.phat.hu
Here is my current rig:
This is clearly a high-end build; I am a software engineer, and I work on this machine all day every day. Here is what I would recommend for a decent video-editing system, at a medium cost:
If this lower-priced system appeals to you, but you want to upgrade one part, I would recommend a more expensive video card.

But the most important part in these builds is the SSD. I will not build a system without one, for anyone, for any reason. They make such a huge difference that I can't bear to use a computer without one.

And while they are much less expensive than they used to be, so are spinning disks. So don't store your video files on the SSD; 4TB drives are $125 to $150 these days.

thank you so much. now i have a point to start off from. will check and see what parts i can get of these in hungary.
thank you for the listing. really a great help.
cheers
Martin


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Recent Posts

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
2,330
Messages
24,191
Members
4,411
Latest member
isabella