Welcome Matrice Pilots!
Join our free DJI Matrice community today!

DJI Transcoding Tool

A very good question.

Some people will tell you that ProRes is a better codec, with a much higher bit rate, and thus converting your H.264-encoded MP4 to ProRes will improve its quality. It absolutely will not; it cannot add detail that was not included in the original MP4 file.

Some people will tell you that ProRes is an easier codec for editing software to handle, and insist that they must transcode to ProRes before they can edit the file. These people all seem to be Mac users, and all seem to be using Final Cut. I have no experience with either, so I can't say for sure. All I know is that Adobe Premiere Pro was designed to handle the H.264 codec natively, and it works like a champ.

The only thing left: correcting D-Log footage by adding the missing contrast and saturation. This can be done pretty easily in Premiere Pro via the Lumetri color panel, so I don't see the point in the transcoding tool. I did an analysis of the original transcoding tool, designed for the X3 camera, here:

Again, this video is analyzing a different tool than you asked about. But I think the general idea is the same.

Mp4 is not nice to edit with, its much slower and intensive to work with for editing.

That is not the case for Premiere Pro on Windows. I routinely edit 4K H.264/MP4 files with no performance problems at all.

That is not the case for Premiere Pro on Windows. I routinely edit 4K H.264/MP4 files with no performance problems at all.

I must admit I doubted what you said, so I did some quick tests inside AE and MEDIA ENCODER and initial results show you're right.
If this turns out to be true you just saved me a load of disk space and transcoding time!

Adobe designed its video products so that they could easily edit "delivery" codecs such as H.264. Apparently Final Cut has problems with these, but Premiere Pro does not.